

DRAFT Minutes National Executive Board August 1, 2024 – 6:00 p.m. – 8:17 p.m. ET Virtual Meeting

I Board Members Present

Deb Confredo, NAfME President (2024-2026) Cecil Adderley, NAfME President-Elect (2024-2026) Scott R. Sheehan, NAfME Immediate Past President (2024-2026) Michael Brownell, President, Eastern Division (2023-2025) Kim Bruguier, President, North Central Division (2024-2026) Dusty Molyneaux, President, Northwest Division (2023-2025) Susan Smith, President, Southern Division (2024-2026) Martha Gabel, President, Southwestern Division (2023-2025) Michael Stone, President, Western Division (2024-2026) Rich Tengowski, Immediate Past President, North Central Division (2024-2026) Tom Muller, Immediate Past President, Northwest Division (2023-2025) James Daugherty, Immediate Past President, Southern Division (2024-2026) Anne Dawson, Immediate Past President, Southwestern Division (2023-2025) Scott Hedgecock, Immediate Past President, Western Division (2024-2026) David Brown, President-Elect, Eastern Division (2023-2024) Clay Blackman, President-Elect, North Central Division (2024-2026) Joe Dyvig, President-Elect, Northwest Division (2023-2025) Chris Baumgartner, President-Elect, Southwestern Division (2023-2025) Anne Fennell, President-Elect, Western Division (2024-2026) Angelica Brooks, National Executive Board Member (2024-2026) Adrian Davis, National Executive Board Member (2024-2026)

II Staff Members Present

Christopher B.L. Woodside, NAfME Executive Director Chaudlier Moore, NAfME Chief Financial and Administrative Officer Kim Henry, NAfME Chief of Staff and Governance Relations

III Guest

Jerald A. Jacobs, Partner, Pillsbury

IV Call to Order

President Deb Confredo called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Eastern Time on Thursday, August 1, 2024.

V Executive Session

WITHOUT OBJECTION, IT WAS CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION AT 6:08 P.M.

WITHOUT OBJECTION, IT WAS CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION AT 7:57 P.M.

IT WAS MOVED BY BROWNELL, SECONDED BY SHEEHAN AND CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO CONFIRM ACTION TAKEN IN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO AUTHORIZE THE LOAN REQUEST FROM THE MARYLAND MUSIC EDUCATORS ASSOCIATION (MMEA) TO BE PAID USING NAFME RESERVES AND EXECUTE AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN NAFME AND MMEA.

IT WAS MOVED BY SMITH, SECONDED BY MULLER AND CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO CONFIRM ACTION TAKEN IN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO AUTHORIZE FINALIZATION AND PRESENTATION OF A WRITTEN COUNTER-OFFER OF A LOAN TO THE TENNESSEE MUSIC EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (TMEA) TO BE PAID USING NAFME RESERVES AND INCLUDE AN OFFER FOR DIALOGUE REGARDING THE COUNTER-OFFER.

IT WAS MOVED BY MULLER, SECONDED BY FENNELL AND CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO CONFIRM ACTION TAKEN IN EXECUTIVE SESSION REGARDING THE POTENTIAL CREATION OF A SHORT TERM ONE (1) YEAR NAFME-ONLY TENNESSEE MEMBERSHIP, DURING WHICH TIME A NEW TENNESSEE AFFILIATE WILL BE EXPLORED, IF THE TENNESSEE MUSIC EDUCATION ASSOCIATION (TMEA) DISAFFILIATES FROM NAFME.

IT WAS MOVED BY MOLYNEAUX, SECONDED BY BROOKS AND CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO CONFIRM ACTION TAKEN IN EXECUTIVE SESSION TO AUTHORIZE AN EXPLORATORY PROCESS WITH THE STATE MEA AFFILIATES TO DISCUSS A POSSIBLE REDUCTION IN THE COST OF NAFME MEMBERSHIP AND TO OFFER INSTITUTIONAL SUPPORT FOR THE MEAS, EITHER OR BOTH OF WHICH MIGHT IMPACT FUTURE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY PLANNING.

VI Adjournment

IT WAS MOVED BY BROWN, SECONDED BY GABEL, AND CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY TO ADJOURN THE NATIONAL EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 1, 2024 AT 8:17 P.M. EASTERN TIME.

Respectfully Submitted,

Christopher B.L. Woodside, Executive Director

Summary and notes formally taken by Kim Henry, Chief of Staff and Governance Relations